Twelve month check-up

Little Miss had her twelve month well check this morning. When I made the appointment a few weeks ago, I typed the time into my phone’s calendar but completely forgot about it when I went to bed last night. Luckily, my little alarm clock, aka Little Miss, woke me up at the usual time of 7:30, and we were able to make it to the doctor on time.

I have never enjoyed the pain that is inflicted on my sweet girl in the form of shots, but I understand that they are a necessary evil. However, when the nurse pricked Little’s big toe for a lead check and commenced to squeeze the blood  from her thrashing foot, I wanted nothing more than to scoop her up and run from the examining room.

The rest of the visit wasn’t much better. The doctor checked in, but then it was time for three shots. Little was prepared to resit after the toe prick and put up an admirable fight. I feel so bad holding her down because I know she doesn’t understand why her mamma isn’t helping her fight off the bad  guy. I get some comfort in knowing that there must have been many occasions in which my own mother held me down for a shot, but I don’t remember a single time. At least Little will forget all the times the nurse and I have tortured her!

Since I didn’t have this blog for any of Little’s other well checks, here is a run-down of the past twelve months along with some pictures. Enjoy!

Birth: 7 pounds 15 ounces, 20.5 inches long

One month: 10 pounds, 22 inches long

Two months: 12 pounds 3 ounces, 24 inches long

Three months

Four months: 14 pounds 6 ounces, 25.5 inches long

Five months

Six months: 16 pounds 8 ounces, 26.3 inches long

Seven months

Eight months

Nine months: 18 pounds 10 ounces,  29 inches long

Ten months

Eleven months

Twelve months: 20 pounds, 30.5 inches long

One Comment to “Twelve month check-up”

  1. I can’t believe she is a year old already! This year went so quickly which makes me sad because I know her second year will too. :]

Leave a Reply

