“This is bananas!”

It’s time for me to make a confession.

I am a TV junkie.

I’d like to say that my addiction began after becoming a mother. That just over twelve months ago, I didn’t have this problem. Then I could blame the sad truth that I tune in to at least one TV show a night on Little Miss and her extraordinary ability to chain me to the house.

But that’s not the truth. I’ve been this way for quite some time. I like my TV, okay? It’s not as if I sit on the couch all day long with a bag of chips while Little Miss begs me to get up and read her a book. The TV is rarely on during the day. We don’t have cable at our house, and I’m not big on All My Children. Primetime (aka bedtime for Little) is when it happens. The TV calls my name, and I’m okay with that.

So taking into consideration the fact that I am a TV lover and the fact that I am female, I kind of love ABC’s the Bachelor. A lot. I know what you’re going to say now.

“That show is staged. It’s not real.”

“How is it possible to fall in  love in such a short time?”

“No one on that show ever stays together.”

The thing is, I don’t care about any of that. I still love the show. It’s my guilty pleasure. I’m sorry if you feel like your brain is turning to mush when you watch it or you want to poke your eye out with a pencil when you see the commercials. I guess that’s fine as long as you don’t tell me how silly I am for watching two hours of very impressive dating every Monday night at 7.

During the last season, a friend shared this blog with me. This girl is absolutely hilarious. Check it out and thank  me for the laugh later.

As for the bachelorettes this go around, I have some opinions (obviously). First of all, Keltie has a lot of energy, for lack of a better word. I’m pretty sure that I (and my husband) saw her underwear not once, but twice when she was doing her rockette kicks. And then she yells out “This is bananas!” Best line so far, I must say. I can tell that Emily will be around for a while, and she seems very sweet. When speaking about not wanting to settle, she told Brad that her mother always says, “It’s better to be home alone than at home and wish you were alone.”

Madison is just plain strange. I love that Brad confronted her about her intentions. And I think it’s safe to say that every girl in the room was creeped out when she leaned in to bite Brad’s neck  after accepting her rose.

I foresee a strong friendship that will eventually get in the way of romance for Brad and Ashley SMichelle will be the one that they all hate. And Britt looks so much like Brittany, it’s weird!

What are your Bachelor opinions and predictions?

2 Comments to ““This is bananas!””

  1. Well,
    I have been watching since the first season, and I love this show no matter how crazy. In fact, I am such a fan that once when working the CMAs, I got more excited about seeing Tristan and Ryan than seeing real celebrities!

    Anyways, I can’t recall many of the girls’ names, but I like the coal miner’s daughter from West Virginia that now lives in NC with her daughter. I think she’ll be in the top two; I like the nanny who recieved the first impression rose, and I am creeped out by Madison (the fang girl) and the Manscaper.

    I also can’t stand Deeana (the one he left his first season); I never liked her even when she was the Bachelorrette; she thinks she is something else. And, she critized him after she left her pick Jessie (after the show I know but still).

    Anways, I wish I wasn’t so addicted to this, but mommys need an escape in the evenings, and I’m with you; Primetime TV is mine. (I dvr House and Parenthood, too)

  2. I’ve actually never seen the Bachelor – though don’t worry, I can’t judge, I’ve watched multiple seasons of Rock of Love and Flavor of Love!

Leave a Reply

