Sweet summer time.

It is January 16th, and I’m already craving the warm air of summer.

Little is ready, too. (Photo taken last winter.)

I’m one who enjoys every season in one way or another. Fall is cozy with its crisp air and crunchy leaves. It’s so comforting to snuggle up with your favorite blanket and eat a big bowl of chili. And of course, there is Halloween! This past Halloween was one of the best I’ve ever had. Yes, Daddio and I were those parents who carried their ten-month-old around for candy. No, Little Miss does not eat candy. Yes, we ate every piece that she collected. But I promise we didn’t take her around for the candy. We just wanted to show how cute she looked in her pink kitty costume!

Winter brings hot chocolate and the Christmas season. I love the entire month of December and the feeling that hangs in the air. I’m not talking about the feeling of your toes freezing as you wait outside Target on Black Friday either. Children at school color pictures of snowmen and Santa Claus as they anxiously count down the days until Christmas morning. Also, the food. Need I say more about that? And obviously, the winter season will always be special to me because I brought Little Miss home in the cold winter of 2009.

Spring means new life. How amazing is that? Everything is brown and cold and…ugly, but then out of nowhere the buttercups bloom and a fresh heavenly scent greets you every time you step outside (I won’t mention the dreaded allergies that also attack me around this time every year).

But out of all the seasons, I think it is safe to say that summer is my favorite. Sure, by the end of September I am tired of the 110% humidity and 90+ degree temperatures, but all the fun activities keep you almost too busy to notice…almost.

I can’t wait for this to summer because Little Miss will be able to do so much. I want to go to the park and play with her on the activity set. I want to take Kona on long walks where we are both exhausted and thirsty when we’re done. I can’t wait to swim like a fish in the long summer afternoons. We’ll eat watermelon and drink lemonade mint tea.

But alas, we still have at least two months of cool weather left before spring even arrives. Christmas is over, and now it’s just cold and dead outside. I always welcome the change in seasons when the time comes, but I’ve never anticipated it this early. I can’t wait for the crisp mornings of spring time and then especially those hot summer afternoons. What are you looking forward to in the coming seasons?

2 Comments to “Sweet summer time.”

  1. I am so ready for summer too! I don’t even like the snow anymore, just the days out of school. I can’t wait until we can go to Weesie’s and swim and be tan, wear shorts and adorable sandals (they already have them out at DSW) and eat grilled chicken and strawberry shortcake!

Leave a Reply

