What does the zebra do? Dance, dance, dance!

I remember doing all kinds of fun stuff when I was little. I think back fondly of my childhood and the many memories that my parents helped me make. We played in the rain, helped cook dinner in the kitchen, swung on the tire swing, and played Barbies (a personal favorite).

But I never went to the zoo. Not even once.

What kind of person has never been to the zoo? Well me, until yesterday. My dad has never liked the zoo. I think he feels bad for the animals in the cages. He must have had a bad experience or something though because I’m already wanting to go back for more. Yes, I will admit that it’s a little sad that the animals don’t get to live in their “natural habitat.” But when would Little Miss ever get to see a lion or meerkat if it wasn’t for the zoo? Maybe never. Plus, the zoo we visited was very nice. The animals had large areas to roam. It definitely wasn’t the stereotypical zoo of Goodnight Gorilla!

So, I’m just going to try to ignore the fact that the elephants and giraffes would most likely rather be in the Savannah and appreciate the opportunity to see them. My favorite thing was the flamingos; they were so beautiful! When we first saw them, they were all in the water cleaning themselves and squawking at each other. After making a loop to see some of the other animals, we saw them for a second time. They had made their way out of the water and were basking in the warm sun. Such a neat experience!

Daddio’s favorite was the gibbon. They weren’t out when we arrived, but after looking at some of the other animals, we could actually hear them playing from quite a distance. They put on an impressive show jumping and swinging from the branches. And boy, did they make a lot of noise!

I’m not sure what Little enjoyed the most, but we’ll just say it was the giraffes since they had a baby on display the day we went. It was so sweet to see the mother nuzzle her little (big) baby!

Here are some pictures from our little adventure. I hope to go back very soon!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Side story: Little Miss got a Melissa and Doug safari animals puzzle for Christmas. One day I was sitting on the couch when she brought me the little wooden zebra. I took the zebra and oohed and ahhed over it. Then I set it on the arm of the couch and said, “look at the zebra dance, dance, dance” as I moved it across the couch. Completely silly. I thought that was the end of it. The next day I was folding laundry, and Little Miss got that zebra and took it straight to the arm of the couch to make it dance. She has done this every single time she gets the zebra since. My little sponge. Anyway, when we saw the zebras at the zoo, we of course said, “What does the zebra do? Dance, dance, dance!” She thought it was hilarious.

2 Responses to “What does the zebra do? Dance, dance, dance!”

  1. You should be a writer. Can’t wait to read more:) Love, Becky

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

