Whoa-oh, Whoa-oh, Stuck like glue.

We had a busy but very fun weekend around here. Our weekends are mostly spent hanging out around home just enjoying our time together, but this past weekend was packed full! On Friday night I had the absolute pleasure of enjoying a night at the CMA music festival. My dear friend Emily who I went to high school with got four-day passes. She mentioned several months ago that she wanted me to go with her for one of the nights, so I’ve been excited about it for quite a while. And in one word, it was amazing. Now I’ve already written a post chronicling my first time at the zoo, so I’m almost embarrassed to admit that Friday night was my first real concert! Oh well. At least I can now say that I went to my first concert before Little could!

Being a true southern girl, I wanted to look the part when I went to the festival. Emily told me that she would be wearing a sundress and cowboy boots, but alas, I do not own a pair of boots. Luckily, my fashionista sister came to the rescue and let me borrow her boots. And her jean skirt. Have I mentioned that I buy clothes for Little a lot more often than I buy for myself?

Before the concert, Emily and I went to a restaurant close to her office called BrickTop’s, and it was so good! I felt kind of silly walking in to the place in a jean skirt and cowboy boots, but luckily I think most of Nashville was buzzing about the music fest, and I was forgiven. We headed over to LP Field and got to our seats just in time for the music to start. The line-up was so good for Friday night! We got to see Dierks Bentley, Lady Antebellum, Sugarland, Keith Urban, and Reba. There were also smaller artists that performed in between the bigger ones. I love all of these artists, but my favorite of the night was Sugarland. I’ve seen them on TV for award shows and have always loved their entertaining performances. But on Friday they were ten times better because it was live! I still haven’t stopped jabbering about the whole night to Daddio. If you’re reading this Em, THANK YOU for inviting me. You’re a wonderful friend, and not just because you invite me to fun things like the CMT music fest. 🙂 Maybe we can be concert buddies from now on. I’ve got a feeling that I’m not going to be able to quit now!

(Photo courtesy of CMT.com)

To continue our fun-filled weekend, Daddio and I actually went on a date sans Little on Saturday night. My parents came over to sit with Little Miss while she slept, and we headed to a wood fired pizza place called Brixx. We sat on the patio, ate our pizza, and just talked (probably a lot about the music fest…). It was so relaxing. I love spending time with my sweet husband at home, but it’s an extra treat when we get to occasionally get out of the house together. After the pizza, we walked over to Barnes and Noble to browse the books. Random fact about me: I love the way bookstores smell. I checked out the best-sellers shelf and am about the start The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.

Sunday morning we went to church. I just started teaching the 2-4 year-old class with Loren, another dear high school friend. I love doing the class, and Little Miss has been coming with me even though she is still six months away from two. I’ve been pleasantly surprised with her reaction to the class. I think she is so interested in the older kids that she just sits in her little chair and behaves (for the most part!). Of course, her favorite part of class is the snacks. Who doesn’t love cheez-its? I also left her in the nursery during service for the first time on Sunday. I’ve always stayed with her, so I was a little worried she might get upset when I left. But she did great! I will admit that I’m pretty attached to my daughter…but I spend every waking moment with the child, so what can you expect? :)Sunday night we went to Nana and Poppy’s (daddio’s parents) house for dinner. Daddio’s grandparents were also there, and we shared a great meal.

Whew! I’m tired just typing all that out. Like I said, we usually do a whole lot of nothing during the weekend, so it was kind of funny that we packed so much into three days. The long days of summer are here, and I am loving the hot sun and relaxing nights. I can’t wait for lots more fun to come!

Leave a Reply

