Dear Little Miss: 18 Months

I’d like to preface this update by saying that I’m sorry it comes almost two weeks late. I know all my faithful followers have been waiting. Ha! We’ve been busy around here, and even though I’ve had most of this typed out for a while, I just couldn’t get around to finishing it up until now. Please forgive me and read on!

Mamma, Gramma B (my grandmother), Little Miss, and Auntie C

Dear Little Miss,

You are eighteen months old sweet girl. A whole year and a half! I’ve said it before, but I’m going to say it again; with every passing day I fall more in love with you. It thrills me every time I realize that you have learned something new. Every time you show me that I’m doing my job as the “mamma” right. I look at your newborn pictures and can’t believe that the little girl standing in front of me was a helpless infant just a short year and a half ago.

One day a few weeks ago Daddio said to you, “Show me your smile.” We were both surprised when you bared all your teeth in a (very cute and cuddly) monster-like expression and said “Cheese!” I have always told you to smile when I’m trying to take pictures, but this was the first time you agreed to do so. And we were also impressed that you added in the “cheese” on your own good measure. We didn’t even have the camera out at the time. The picture at the bottom of a few posts back is just what you look like when you “show your smile.”

You’ve developed a somewhat frustrating habit of taking your diaper off while you’re in your crib. It all started a few weeks ago. I’ve decided that you must wake up in the morning with little noise. When I don’t hear you, you get bored and begin removing your pajamas and diaper. What a sneaky little girl! I don’t even know how many time I’ve walked in to find you completely naked. When I ask you where your diaper is, you always point to it in the crib and begin jabbering to yourself.

In contrast, you’ve become an expert at putting on your own shoes. You love to sit down on the floor and take your time. More than half the time you actually put them on the correct feet, but I’ve got to say I think it’s just chance at this point! ūüôā You also like to get clothes out of the laundry basket and try to get dressed! On more than one occasion you have come out of your room with a shirt pulled onto your legs or socks on your hands. I guess you have already started playing dress-up!

Since it’s summer time now we’ve been going to the swimming pool a lot, and you love the water. You are fearless when it comes to the pool, which I’m happy about on one hand and extra cautious and watchful about on the other. You blow bubbles in the water and “jump” off the side into my arms. The jumping is actually more like falling, but you’re proud of yourself nonetheless, and so am I! I’ve also been teaching you to float on your back by crouching in the water¬† and¬†resting your head on my shoulder. You’ll tolerate this for a time, but you’re not fond of the¬†water getting in your ears. If I ask you if you want to go swimming, you head straight for you swim diapers and suit!

You’ve started repeating yourself very loudly when you want something. For example, if you want your cup of water, you say, “Cup! Cup! CUP!” until I get your cup. Another favorite is “ABBY!” which is what you have started calling your pacifier. We’ve always called it a paci, but your word for it is abby. Who knows why. What I do know is that it’s almost too adorable when you say it.

You’re also perfecting your auntie’s name. Other than mamma and dada, her name is the only name you will say without prompting. You put words together now¬†such as¬†thank you mamma, bye¬† bye¬†Kona or please dada.

I’m not sure if I’ve put it in another post, but for quite a while now you have been giving kisses and hugs when asked.

You say “ewwww” when something is gross or dirty. ūüôā

You weigh 23 pounds and are just over 32 inches tall. My long and lean girl with a pooched out belly!

I love you little one. You make me smile every day!

Love,

Mamma

Leave a Reply

